Types of Centers & Facilities at Spaulding

After an illness, injury, or surgery, many people require rehabilitative care. In most cases, the goal is to return home and get back to work and leisure activities. For others, the goal is to reach the highest level of physical functioning possible in their recovery.

There are four types of rehabilitation centers and facilities:

Learn more about how to choose the right care for your needs.

  • Inpatient Rehab
  • Long-Term Acute Care
  • Skilled Nursing
  • Outpatient Centers

Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility (IRF) - At an inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF), clinical teams coordinate medical treatment, specialized services, rehabilitation treatments, and patient-assistance services, all while providing the emotional support and encouragement necessary to make great strides in recovery. Patients can expect to receive three to five hours of intensive rehabilitation per day.

Long-Term Acute Care (LTAC) - Long-term acute care (LTAC) facilities are for patients with complex medical needs as well as rehabilitation needs. LTAC hospitals offer a wide range of rehabilitation services for patients with multiple or complex medical problems. Each patient's individual needs are the primary driver of care.

Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) - At a skilled nursing facility (SNF), patients recovering from an illness or injury can receive short-term skilled nursing or rehabilitative care. For short-term patients, the goal is to be able to return home at the highest level of function and perform tasks necessary for everyday living.

Outpatient Centers -- Outpatient centers provide services from rehabilitation programs after surgery or illness to pain management, sports medicine, and injury prevention.

Follow Us on Facebook
Find your strength

The people of Spaulding are committed to helping patients and families find their strength.

Follow Us

Interactive Location Map

Interactive Location Map